New Zealand: restrictions and entry requirements 2022

Borders are open with restrictions.

These passengers are allowed to enter:

  • citizens of New Zealand
  • permanent residents of New Zealand
  • holders of a Resident Visa applied for on or before 30 November 2021. They must be arriving in New Zealand for the first time as the holder of that visa;
  • holders of a Resident Visa applied for on or after 1 December 2021 and issued under the 2021 Resident Visa Category;
  • partners or children of citizens and residents of New Zealand;
  • holders of visa who have been granted an exemption;
  • passengers arriving from Niue or Cook Islands if in the past 14 days they have only been in those countries;
  • holders of a visitor visa issued by New Zealand;
  • holders of NZeTA.

Passengers upon check-in must provide a Travel Pass. It must be obtained online after completing a health declaration.

Passengers older than 17 years must have a vaccination certificate. Approved vaccines are: AstraZeneca (Vaxzevria), Covaxin, Covishield, Covovax, Janssen, Moderna (Spikevax), Nuvaxovid (Novavax), Pfizer-BioNTech (Comirnaty), Sinopharm (BIBP) or Sinovac. Other vaccines are also accepted if combined with one dose of AstraZeneca (Vaxzevria), Covishield, Janssen, Moderna (Spikevax) or Pfizer-BioNTech (Comirnaty). They must register certificate via Managed Isolation Allocation System.
These passengers doesn’t need a valid vaccination certificate:

  • citizens and residents of New Zealand;
  • citizens of Australia residing in New Zealand;
  • holders of a Resident Visa that expired not more than 6 months before departure;
  • refugees with a visa issued by New Zealand;
  • passengers who are or were residing in Ukraine on or after 1 January 2022, or who are using a visa under the 2022 Special Ukraine Visa Policy for the first time.

Auckland (AKL) is the only airport opened for transit at the moment. The maximum length of stopover is 24 hours.
Passengers are prohibited from transit to China via New Zealand.

These passengers are allowed to transit to China:

  • Chineese citizens if arriving from Niue, Tonga, Cook Islands, Vanuatu, Fiji, Samoa.

Arriving passengers can self-test on arrival, and will no longer need to enter managed isolation and quarantine (MIQ).


Trending searches

Latest information on travel bans during COVID-19