Borders are closed. There are few exceptions however.

These passengers may enter:

  • citizens of Japan;
  • spouses or children of Japanese citizens, if they can prove it;
  • residents of Japan with an re-entry permit;
  • holders of visa issued by Japan outside of Japan on or after 2 December 2021;

Arriving passengers must install a MySos mobile application on their devices.

Visa waiver has been suspended for a holders of a British passport, as well as Hong Kong and Macau passports.

Visa waiver has been suspended for a citizens of the following countries:

Andorra, Argentina, Austria, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Brunei, Bulgaria, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Denmark, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland , France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, South Korea, Latvia, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay and the Vatican.

Visas issued on or before 08 March 2020 in the following countries, have been suspended: China, Hong Kong, South Korea, Macao.

Visas issued on or before 27 March 2020 in the following countries, have been suspended: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Iran , Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom or Vatican.

Visas issued on or before 02 April 2020 in the following countries, have been suspended:

Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Rep., Chad, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Cook Isl., Costa Rica, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominican Rep., El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini (Swaziland), Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Kuwait, Lao People’s Dem. Rep., Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Isl., Mauritania, Mexico, Micronesia (Federated States), Mongolia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestinian Territory, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Russian Fed., Rwanda, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Seychelles , Sierra Leone, Solomon Isl., Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and Grenadines, Sudan, Suriname, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Yemen, Zambia or Zimbabwe.

Starting from 21 January 2021 visas with “EX-B” or “EX-R” remarks are no longer valid for enter Japan, if they were issued in one of the following countries: Brunei, Cambodia, China, Taiwan, South Korea, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand or Vietnam.

Arriving passengers older than 6 years must have negatvie COVID-19 test result. Accepted tests are: LAMP, NEAR, Next Generation Sequence, quantitative antigen (CLEIA/ECLEIA), RT-PCR, Smart Amp, TMA, TRC. The test must be taken no more than 72 hours before departure from the 1st embarkation point and must be in English.

These passengers doesn’t need a negative COVID-19 test result:

  • holders of consular letter specifying why the test could not be taken.

Arriving passengers are subject to medical screening. They must have a completed Quarantine Questionnaire and present a QR code upon arrival. Passengers will undergo a coronavirus test on arrival and shall be quarantined for 14 days unless they are exempted.

Those who have a valid vaccination certificate are eligible for a quarantine shortening up to 3 days or for a complete quarantine exemption. To check if you eligible please follow this link.

Trending searches

Latest information on travel bans during COVID-19